My red chicken curry

One of my favourite Twitter people (“Tweeps”), is Julie Kirby, aka MrsFiddlesticks. Her life is pretty much the antithesis of mine: living in the country, married, children: she describes herseif as a free-range mum and downsizer. I love the snapshots of her life that her tweets provide; and she often makes me hungry by posting pictures of things like her homemade cakes.

She very kindly posted her recipe for marrow and bacon soup on her blog today when I asked her for it, so it seems only polite to post in return one of my made-up dishes that I’ve successfully fed to (ie not poisoned with) a few friends. I made it up, so bear with me. It feeds four.

Nom nom nom

Nom nom nom

Ingredients: a red onion, some garlic (I use about half a bulb), two chicken breasts (you could use cheaper thighs), small tin of coconut milk, small carton of coconut cream, quite a lot of creme fraiche (I use full fat of all of the above because it’s lower in carbs), Thai fish sauce, chili (I cheat and use the Waitrose Cooks’ Ingredients jar stuff, a good teaspoon full, possibly a bit more); and lots of veg. I usually sling in a bunch of spring onions, a couple of red peppers, a leek and of course a couple of sticks of lemon grass, chopped as finely as you can be bothered. And some coriander, chopped.

Fry in some olive oil the chopped onions and garlic in a big heavy frying pan (I’ve got one of those big Le Creuset chaps) until they’re soft. Add the chicken, cut into bitesized chunks, turn up the heat a tiny bit and continue to fry until the chicken is pretty much cooked through.

Dump the small tin of coconut milk on top of it (tip: don’t keep this in the fridge, it solidifies), stir. Add coconut cream (I usually use pretty much all of a small carton) and dollops of creme fraiche as you go. Stir in chillis (either a couple of real ones chopped finely or a big teaspoon of the Waitrose ones in a jar). Add fish sauce (quite a lot) until it all tastes nice and you’ve got about half an inch of depth of sauce. It should look quite red.

Then add the veg and the lemongrass, turn up the heat a bit and let it go *blup* on the cooker for about 10 minutes until the veg are cooked as much as you like. I like ’em crunchy so I don’t leave it very long. Chuck in the coriander at the very last minute.

It takes about half an hour from start to finish. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

