Mad cat lady

Forgive me for a bit of self-indulgence, but I am worried about Blossom, my 18-year-old moggy. She’s not eating much and has lost a bit of weight. She’s turning up her nose at cat food and is showing only a passing interest in biscuits, though she has just cheered me up by having a few laps of milk and by scoffing a couple of bits of raw chicken.

She’s fine in herself: still perky, chatty and engaged, but when a cat is 18 and stops eating, you’ve got to worry. I’m due a day off on Wednesday and if she hasn’t regained a bit of appetite by then, it’s off to the vet. But I’m rather dreading that: while it’s possible that she’s just got a bit of a bug, it’s more likely that something’s really not right with her, and I just don’t want to hear it.

4 thoughts on “Mad cat lady

  1. Richard says:

    Oh dear, I hope she is ok. 😦

  2. Kate says:

    Thanks, Richard. Actually *touch wood* she’s more interested in food this morning. She had some catfood last night; I heard her munching away before I got up and she had a few bites of breakfast, so I’m optimistic that it was just that she was under the weather. I hope so, anyway.

  3. louisebol says:

    Aw, poor lovely Blossom. It does sound as if old age is catching up with her. My last cat, Ziggy, made it to 18 then got very thin and lost his appetite. I had to have him put down as he had a stomach tumour and it was heartbreaking, but he’d had a good life gallivanting around Europe with me.

    Do get her checked over but be ready to say goodbye, just in case. Fingers crossed she’s just a bit off and will perk up again.

  4. Kate says:

    She’s interested in food but runs out of steam about eating it, which is still worrying me. I’m not working on Wednesday so I think we’ll do a trip to the vet. I’m dreading it.

Leave a Reply

