I’m crap

It has been far too long since I blogged. I’ve found it very difficult to come back and read my entries about Blossom, and the wonderfully kind comments have in some ways made that worse. Losing her was very hard, harder than I ever thought it would be.

However, it’s definitely time to come back to the blog. So what’s been happening in the past few months? Well, apart from the Christmas and new year festivities, I’ve rejoined the ranks of the gainfully employed by getting a staff job at the Guardian, where I’ve been freelancing off and on for three-ish years. I’m now production editor of Guardian Weekly, which is published in various sites around the world once a week. I’m in charge of making sure the paper product actually happens and gets to the print sites in the US, the UK and Australia.

I’m still going to be contributing to Guardian Technology, though I haven’t written anything for them for a couple of months. However, I want to keep my hand in and now that I’ve got my feet under the table in my new job I’ll be sorting through a pile of ideas.

Otherwise … Daphne is getting bigger and more enchanting every day. She’s going to be spayed this week and will be able to go outside once she’s recovered from the procedure, which is a Good Thing as she’s very bright and clearly rather bored having exhausted the possibilities of indoors.

Now that I’m back, I’m back, and will update regularly.

2 thoughts on “I’m crap

  1. louisebol says:

    Good to see you back!

  2. Claire Khaw says:

    I just wanted to say that I just happened to be watching BBC News and was utterly charmed by you when you were reviewing tomorrow’s papers. You reminded me of a favourite English teacher I never had, in the way that Pachelbel’s Canon reminds me of an idealised childhood and home I never had. I am sure all the journalists you mentioned enjoyed the very headmistressly manner you talked about their work, so, NO, Kate, you are most certainly NOT crap!

Leave a Reply

